Chapter History

The 283rd House of Alpha

The Theta Zeta Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. is seated in Ann Arbor, Michigan, and is home to brothers residing in Ann Arbor, Ypsilanti, and various cities within the Metro-Detroit area. The chapter was founded on January 23, 1962 – the same day that baseball great Jackie Robinson was elected into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

The seven men who established the Theta Zeta Lambda Chapter were Rev. Lyman S. Parks, John L. Ragland, John Mansfield, Dr. Thomas Bass, Rollins P. Greene, Booker Brooks, and Dr. Henry C. Bryant.

These proud African American men rejected the discriminatory practices of the time and encouraged everyone to join in the fight for immediate civil rights. They encountered unfair resistance, just as Jackie Robinson had a decade before. Nevertheless, they persevered and with the assistance of others in the activist community, old restrictions against full employment and open housing for African Americans slowly began to fade throughout the Ann Arbor area.

Theta Zeta Lambda Chapter continues to play a leading role in this community by providing tutoring, recognition for significant achievements as well as scholarships for our youth; by providing food for the truly disadvantaged; and by providing voting assistance wherever it is needed.

In 2014 Theta Zeta Lambda Chapter established the Theta Zeta Lambda Scholarship Fund.

The Theta Zeta Lambda Chapter and the Theta Zeta Lambda Scholarship Fund will award a minimum of fourteen $1,500 scholarships to deserving high-school seniors planning to attend college in the upcoming year.

Strong candidates will have demonstrated improved self-esteem, academic performance, social awareness, problem-solving and decision-making skills during their high-school careers. The scholarship is non-renewable. Since the early 1980s, Theta Zeta Lambda has awarded to high-school students more than 150 scholarships totaling more than $100,000.

Jackie Robinson is not a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

The Theta Zeta Lambda Chapter is a  tax-exempt 501c3 non-profit organization.
Tax ID: 81-1257797

The Theta Zeta Lambda Scholarship Fund is a tax-exempt  501c3 non-profit organization.
Tax ID: 38-2671230

History in Ann Arbor

Portions of the Theta Zeta Lambda Chapter’s History
is featured in the book, Another Ann Arbor.

Charter Members

Rev. Lyman S. Parks
John L. Ragland
John Mansfield
Dr. Thomas Bass
Rollins P. Greene
Booker Brooks
Dr. Henry C. Bryant

Chapter Presidents

Bro. Lyman S. Parks
1962 – 1964

Bro. John L. Ragland
1964 – 1965

Bro. Dr. Thomas Bass
1965 – 1966

Bro. Dr. Watson A. Young
1966 – 1967

Bro. David R. Byrd
1967 – 1968

Bro. Richard H. Ross, Sr.
1976 – 1977

Bro. James W. Anderson
1977 – 1979

Bro. Fulton B. Eaglin
1979 – 1980

Bro. Warren G. Palmer
1980 – 1982

Bro. Frederick D. McCuiston, Jr.
1982 – 1984

Bro. Levi T. Thompson
1994 – 1995

Bro. William V. Hampton
1995 – 1997

Bro. Lamont D. Manley
1997 – 1999

Bro. Ronald E. Flowers
1999 – 2001

Bro. Cary Junior
2001 – 2003

Bro. Leland L. Walker
2011 – 2013

Bro. Brandon T. Marsh
2013 – 2015

Bro. Charles A. Davis, Jr.
2015 – 2017

Bro. Timothy A. Collier, Sr.
2017 – 2019

Bro. L. Jerome Vasser
2019 – 2021

Bro. Gordon R. Martin
1968 – 1969

Bro. James W. Neal
1969 – 1971

Bro. William E. Alexander
1971 – 1972

Bro. Milton P. Brown
1972 – 1974

Bro. Raymond B. Randolph, Jr.
1974 – 1976

Bro. William L. Harris
1984 – 1986

Bro. James D. Moore
1986 – 1988

Bro. Morse Brown
1988 – 1990

Bro. Marion C. Hoey
1990 – 1991

Bro. Reginald T. Marsh
1991 – 1993

Bro. Morse Brown
2003 – 2005

Bro. Carl L. Baker
2005 – 2006

Bro. Ataul B. Usman
2006 – 2008

Bro. Jonathan D. Madison
2008 – 2009

Bro. Michael T. Johnson
2009 – 2011

Bro. James M. Thomas, Jr.
2021 – 2023

Bro. Travis L. Martin
2023 – Present

Michigan District’s South-Central Area

The Theta Zeta Lambda Chapter represents the South-Central Area of the Michigan District and provides advising to the Epsilon Chapter at the University of Michigan and the Epsilon Eta Chapter (currently inactive) at Eastern Michigan University.